Sign in to follow this  
HomeBot

Learning JavaScript

Hey guys, I wanted to learn to code in my free time during college and wanted to start with JavaScript because I've had some previous experience with Adsense sites and wanted to go down that route in the future. Would JavaScript be a good place to start for someone with no previous experience in coding? I've started up on Codecademy free lessons but if anyone has any advice on some other resources that might be better let me know!

JavaScript is a great choice but you should be familiar with HTML/CSS before you go down that road.

Yeah its a good language to start with. Its a bit more complicated than python but easier to do web/gui stuff with. Everyone always gets frustrated with python if they want to do anything 'visual' whereas JS has it all built in.

One thing to be careful of is that javascript is very unforgiving compared to python. If you make a mistake it wont necessarily tell you where you went wrong or things will just suddenly stop working but not throw up any errors. All that means is you have to really learn the language rather than just do trial and error.

There are good resources all over - the w3schools stuff is probably the best as it has loads of examples and is well written.

Yeah its a good language to start with. Its a bit more complicated than python but easier to do web/gui stuff with. Everyone always gets frustrated with python if they want to do anything 'visual' whereas JS has it all built in.

One thing to be careful of is that javascript is very unforgiving compared to python. If you make a mistake it wont necessarily tell you where you went wrong or things will just suddenly stop working but not throw up any errors. All that means is you have to really learn the language rather than just do trial and error.

There are good resources all over - the w3schools stuff is probably the best as it has loads of examples and is well written.